Troll Swap

Troll Swap by Leigh Hodgkinson.  Nosy Crow, 2014.

Cute Book Alert!

It's a beautiful day, and I plan on spending as much of it outside as possible, but I must put this picture book on your radar, if it isn't there already.  Troll Swap is written and illustrated by Leigh Hodgkinson, and the girls and I pulled it out of the library bag last night.  

It's about a little troll named Timothy Limpet, who is neat and polite and quite unlike the other trolls.  It's also about a little girl named Tabitha Lumpit, who is loud and messy and trollish, especially compared to her neat, polite parents.





Timothy and Tabitha long to fit in.  Then one day - they meet!




As you may have deduced from the title, Timothy and Tabitha switch places, and at first, everything seems to work out.  But in the end, we learn that it's important to be true to yourself.  And sometimes, those flaws are what make you so loveably you.




Leigh Hodgkinson has a website called Wonkybutton.  Besides writing and illustrating books for children, she has also worked as an animator, and as the art director for the TV series Charlie and Lola.  I read the book to the girls in my best (worst) British accent.  If you're a fan of Lauren Child, or of shows like Charlie and Lola or Peppa Pig, do check this one out!  It's cute, funny, and the artwork is fabulous.


Follow along with Silver Shoes & Rabbit Holes on FacebookBloglovinInstagram, and/or Pinterest!







Comments

  1. SAY NO MORE!! Will totally check this out! ADORABLE. We need to start making videos of ourselves reading books in faux Brit accents.....I think we'd totally go viral!! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, dear... I can see us being made fun of on Graham Norton now. ;)

      Delete
  2. Adorable! Love the idea and the art. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. How fun, and great pictures! I love the Charlie and Lola books but haven't seen the show yet- the books are fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I admit, I saw the show before I saw the books. It was an early-morning staple on Playhouse Disney when Big Sis was little. I love that they use real kids' voices, and the music and design are very cool. To be honest, it was a show I enjoyed more than the girls did, although Little Sis has become interested again lately. I love the Lauren Child books, but aside from her few, most of the books are actually TV tie-ins. They're so well done, though! Since we no longer have cable, if we want a Charlie and Lola show fix, we either check the DVDs out from the library or watch whatever episodes might be on YouTube.

      Delete
  4. Thank you! OOOHHH! This looks like one I need asap… you're always doing this to me Danzel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think this one would be right up your alley, Robyn! :)

      Delete
  5. I love that the troll's name is Timothy Limpet. I mean, how often are trolls given a first and last name? Equal treatment for trolls! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Fans of Charlie and Lola or Peppa Pig? *raises hands* My kids and I LOVE those TV shows/books. This troll's book seems awesome. I can't do the British accent (I really suck at accents) LOL but I wished I could!

    ReplyDelete
  7. The artwork reminds me of those shows/books, and the humor has a similar flavor. Tabitha even jumps in "muddy puddles," a phrase which will always remind me of Peppa. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are welcome! I'm a shy blog commenter, too, but I do love to read what people have to say. All I ask is, please be kind, to me and to each other.