At the Same Moment Around the World

At the Same Moment Around the World by Clotilde Perrin.
Chronicle Books, 2014.
Originally published in France under the title Au méme instant, sur lat Terre...

Have you seen this book yet?  I am in love with this book.  The illustrations are beautiful, as you can probably tell from the cover.  Better yet, it teaches something:  time zones.  We begin at 6:00 in the morning.  "It is six o'clock in the morning in Dakar, Senegal.  Keita wakes up early to help his father count the fish caught during the night."

From there, the book takes us to another part of the world, one hour later in the day, but at the same time. At the same time Keita is waking to count fish, it is 7 AM in Paris, 8 AM in Sofia, Bulgaria, 9 AM in Baghdad, 10 AM in Dubai...


We stop in Hanoi, Shanghai, Tokyo...


Sydney, Nouméa in New Caledonia, Anadyr in Russia, Apia in Samoa, Honolulu, Anchorage, San Francisco, Phoenix...


Mexico City, Lima, the Amazon rainforest near Manaus in Brazil, Nuuk in Greenland, the island of Fernando de Noronha near Brazil, a ship in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, and finally, we end exactly where we started, at 6 AM in Dakar, Senegal.

It can make a person crazy, picturing what time it is in some distant country, on the other side of the world. This book is such a fabulous way to introduce the concept to children.

Making a great thing even better, at the back of the book, you can read about time zones...


then place all the action on a big, beautiful pull-out map!  Which, to be honest, came in very handy for me!



I'll have a "what we've been reading" post tomorrow, at some point in the day.


Follow along with Silver Shoes & Rabbit Holes on FacebookBloglovinInstagram, and/or Pinterest!




Comments

  1. I love stuff like this. Stuff that gets kids thinking about life outside their world and city.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've wanted this book for some time, it looks terrific!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wish I would have had it in my hands a little sooner. It would have been a great choice to read to the second graders at school this year.

      Delete
  3. Wow this book is awesome! Love love the idea!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love this. I especially love the pull out world map. How cool is that?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am in love with the map. I think a map like this, sans character names, would be great to hang on a wall. :)

      Delete
  5. So lovely!!! And yet another example of how I learn everything from picture books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! Totally know the feeling. We're about to delve into more Steve Jenkins animal books. I have some Nicola Davies checked out, too.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Comments are welcome! I'm a shy blog commenter, too, but I do love to read what people have to say. All I ask is, please be kind, to me and to each other.

Popular Posts